Laura's Blog

Dear Poetry Friday friends, I have a Passover-themed post for you this week, with a poem, a recipe, and book recommendation, and a giveaway! But first, thanks to Matt Forrest Esenwine for hosting Poetry Friday this week. Head over to Matt’s blog, Radio, Rhythm & Rhyme for this week’s poetic links. But first, happy 6th […]

Read More

It’s Poetry Friday! Thanks to this week’s host, Janice Scully of the blog Salt City Verse. Visit Janice for links to poetry posts and National Poetry Month projects from the whole PF blogging community. I have a special treat for you today, poets and poetry fans… a soon-to-be-published poem from Jane Yolen! Jane was kind […]

Read More

Thursday, 17 March 2022

Happy Poetry Friday! Thanks to Ruth at the blog There Is No Such Thing as a God-forsaken Town for hosting this week’s list of poetry links and posts. I’m always happy when a poem written  years ago finds a home with a journal or anthology. Back in winter 2011, when my children were still children, […]

Read More

Thursday, 27 January 2022

I’m just “back” from my first residency at Vermont College of Fine Arts. “Back” in quotes because the entire 10 days of panels, lectures, and workshops was virtual — but still magical! Focusing on the craft of writing for was the creative food I’d been craving. One of the first events was a panel called, […]

Read More

Thursday, 6 January 2022

Happy first Poetry Friday of 2022! Today, I’m featuring my favorite middle grade book of 2021 — the brilliant (and hilarious, and sad) climate emergency satire, ONE SMALL HOP by Madelyn Rosenberg. Here is an abbreviated description of the story from Goodreads: Perfect for fans of Carl Hiaasen’s classic Hoot, this humorous adventure story set in […]

Read More

Thursday, 2 December 2021

Short post this week, my friends, but it comes with a book giveaway and a BIG announcement! Announcement first: At the start of 2022, I’ll be starting a new job, one I’m excited (and a little bit nervous) about. I’m honored to be joining the faculty of Vermont College of Fine Arts’ MFA in Writing […]

Read More

Thursday, 18 November 2021

Hi, friends. Other than helping with the Winter Poetry Swap, I’ve been away from Poetry Friday for a few months. I’ve been busy mentoring a family who fled Afghanistan in August — a husband, wife, and their two little boys. The good news is, through the writing community, we helped them find housing! This time […]

Read More

Thursday, 19 August 2021

This is a post about dogs. You’ve all gotten to know the Shovan family dogs over the years — anxious Sam the schnauzer and his very best friend, Rudy the (goofy, lovable) beagle. But it’s also a post about poetry. I am a huge fan of Laura Purdie Salas‘ A Leaf Can Be series of […]

Read More

Happy Poetry Friday, everyone! Today, I have an interview with one of my favorite people in the children’s literature community, author Tricia Springstubb. Thanks to Tricia for giving away a copy of her middle grade novel The Most Perfect Thing in the Universe. Leave a comment and I will draw a winner (U.S. only, please) before […]

Read More

Thursday, 1 July 2021

Welcome, poets and poetry fans. Poetry Friday is here this week. You’ll find the link-up at the bottom of this post. One of the last trips I made before the Covid-19 lockdown was to Tallahassee, Florida. My friend, poet Michael Rothenberg, took me to a magical spot, Wakulla Springs. During a boat tour of the […]

Read More